The Leading Independent Resource for Top-tier MBA Candidates

Aspen Institute Awards Business School Faculty for Commitment to Sustainability, Business Ethics

The Aspen Institute Center for Business Education (Aspen CBE) last week announced its 2010 Faculty Pioneer Awards, recognizing business school instructors who have taken a leading role in integrating social, environmental and ethical issues into the MBA curriculum. Top honors this year went to professors at the Haas School at the University of California at Berkeley, Boston University, Duke University’s Fuqua School of Business and Stellenbosch University in South Africa.

David Vogel, professor of business ethics at the Haas School, shares this year’s Lifetime Achievement award with James Post, management professor at Boston University. Vogel has been a member of the Haas faculty since 1973, and Post has worked at Boston University since 1975.

The 2010 Faculty Pioneer award went to Mark Swilling, professor of sustainable development in the school of public leadership at South Africa’s Stellenbosch University. Swilling, who is also academic director for the Stellenbosch Sustainability Institute, designed and implemented both a master’s and doctoral program in sustainability at the school.

Finally, Aspen CBE awarded Fuqua associate professor of strategy Aaron Chatterji with its Rising Star award. Chatterji is currently serving as a senior economist at the White House Council of Economic Advisors (CEA), where he focuses on entrepreneurship, small business and innovation policy.

“We are thrilled to honor these trailblazing individuals,” Nancy McGaw, Aspen CBE director, said. “They are the scholars and teachers leading the way to ensure that our future business leaders are ready to tackle the financial, social and environmental challenges they will face in their everyday business decisions.”

The 2010 award recipients will be honored as part of the 2nd Aspen in New York Business & Society Annual Forum, which will take place on October 26th and 27th. The Faculty Pioneers also will receive an honorarium from Aspen CBE.

For more on the Aspen CBE Faculty Pioneers, click here.

Posted in: MBA News

Schools: Berkeley / Haas, Duke / Fuqua

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

  • Sign Up For Our Newsletter

    Expert admissions advice and the latest news on top business schools delivered straight to your inbox.