The Leading Independent
Resource for Top-tier MBA
<< Back to ApplyWire
November 10, 2018 2:18pm ET
Applying: Berkeley / Haas, Duke / Fuqua, HEC Paris, Northwestern / Kellogg, UCLA Anderson, UPenn / Wharton
Intake Year: 2019
Pre-MBA Career: Public Relations and Corporate Communications
Post-MBA Target Industry: Consumer Goods Companies: 3M , Coca Cola , Mondelez , Nestle , Nike , PepsiCo , Proctor & Gamble , Unilever
GMAT: 710
GPA: 3.3
Years of Work Experience: 2
Location: Oman
Post MBA Location: Flexible

My GMAT score breakdown is: (Q: 49 and V: 38).

A brief on my background: I have worked for two years in a top-notch international PR and Communications agency (post my under-grad) and served a plethora of MNCs and large scale conglomerates across corporate and consumer verticals in those two years. I was among the youngest people at the agency and was promoted within a year of working there.

I specialised in PR during my undergrad and carried out five internships successfully during the same time. Three at non-profit organizations and two at industry-specific agencies.

Through school, college and work, I have always taken up roles of responsibility and leadership, actively looked out for and asked for opportunities and always showcased the urge to learn. Additionally, I have always actively participated in extra-curriculars at school and college and performed extremely well academically.

I would like to do an MBA with a major in marketing, from a top B-school in the US specifically, so as to add to my experience of PR and communications and achieve concentric growth around my core competencies. Furthermore, coming from a advertising and PR background, I have a fair understanding of the changing communication landscape and would like to deep dive into understanding brand management, disruptive marketing and ways to break through the current clutter to create an impact or spearhead behavioural change.

Starting today, I have about 50 days till round 2 deadlines to get my essays in place. How many universities seem feasible and which are the best options basis my profile? Any other inputs anyone would like to give me?