The Leading Independent
Resource for Top-tier MBA
<< Back to ApplyWire
August 24, 2021 1:45pm ET
Applying: Dartmouth / Tuck, Duke / Fuqua, Michigan / Ross, Northwestern / Kellogg, U. Washington / Foster, UT Austin / McCombs, UVA / Darden, Yale SOM
Intake Year: 2023
Pre-MBA Career: Oil and Gas Service Industry
Post-MBA Target Industry: Consulting, Technology Companies: Accenture , Bain , BCG , McKinsey , Amazon , Apple , Google , Microsoft , Tesla
GPA: 3.64
Years of Work Experience: 4.5
Location: United States
Post MBA Location: United States

Hi Alex and Graham, thanks for all the work you guys do on the podcast. For while now, I've been listening to the newer episodes on Mondays and now I'm going back towards to earlier episode looking for more wisdom from you both! I am a 25yo male from India. First in my immediate and extended family to attend college. I did two years of my undergraduate studies in India and transferred to a top 10 Mechanical Engineering programs in the US and graduated with a bachelors. Since my graduation, over 2.5 years ago, I have been working, in the US, in the oil and gas service sector in one of the top companies in the industry. I have already gotten one promotion at my job and I am actively working towards another promotion which I hope to get by April/May of 2022. At work, I work with teams from all over the world and have various functions such a manufacturing, sales and other engineering teams. I am planning to take the GMAT at the end of this year or early next year and I am aiming for a 740-760 score. As far as my extra curriculars go, I was on the board of the honors society at school. I am in the board of the employee's club at our campus. I have also been actively recruiting at my university for my company. I also ran my first half marathon this past March of 2021, and I am training for my second half marathon in October of 2021 to run it at a faster pace. I am especially proud of this because, in June of 2020, I was not able to finish a full mile without stopping. I will also be doing a 2-day, 150-mile bike race early next year. I take part in all these endurance activities while also raising money for various charities. I am really passionate about giving people equal access to education and I am also trying to volunteer more with kids with less access to resources. I am a little worried about the pool that I am in and that's something that is not under my control. I am also worried about my GPA, my work experience and my extra curricular involvement. Do you guys think I am overshooting with the schools on my list? I would also like to know any other thoughts/comments that you guys might have on my candidacy. [To reiterate, I will have 4.5 years of work experience at the time of matriculation]. Thanks a lot!